Author Topic: Any interest in this lock? RCA #138'ish  (Read 18229 times)

Offline Chris Evrard

Any interest in this lock? RCA #138'ish
« on: September 12, 2017, 04:17:46 PM »
Hey All,

I'm just curious to see if there would be any interest in this lock. It started as a Chambers Colonial Virginia, and was modified to be a bridleless lock. The idea is to approximate the lock of RCA #138 on pages 590-593  Volume II.

I also changed the frizzen spring. All casting flash removed, polished screws and bearing surfaces, nice tight fitting frizzen, etc.

Nothing is "for sale" yet as I am just gauging interest for those who may want something just a little different.

Best, CE

PS. I am a recovering machinist ;) and one of the builders for Chambers Flintlocks, and have built about 2000 locks over the past 4 years. Also, if you have anything you'd like to see, let me know.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 04:26:48 PM by Chris Evrard »

Offline wattlebuster

Re: Any interest in this lock? RCA #138'ish
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2017, 04:47:14 PM »
I like it. LOTS. I would buy one
Nothing beats the feel of a handmade southern iron mounted flintlock on a cold frosty morning

Offline Percy

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 05:41:45 PM »
I am interested, any idea when one might be available?

Percy

Offline oldtravler61

• We all make mistakes.
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 05:45:52 PM »
  Me too! Nice looking lock..!  Oldtravler

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2017, 06:07:48 PM »
I'd buy it.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline P.W.Berkuta

« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2017, 07:27:35 PM »
Nice workmanship -- I like it a lot also ;).