Author Topic: 36 cal loads?  (Read 6612 times)

Offline Bigmon

36 cal loads?
« on: October 17, 2017, 01:36:47 AM »
I know I asked this back in May or June, but I cannot seem to find it?
I started shooting in this 36 cal rifle today and cant seem to get it in a consistant group.
It is a 36 cal 42" lg Green Mt barrel flinter.
I been using .350 balls and .018 pillow ticking with bore butter and it feels reel good loading.
It'l put two in the bull and then two more not, then back in??
I have been using anywhere fro 30 gr to 45 gr FFFG powder and it dont seem to much matter?
Any idears??
Thanks

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: 36 cal loads?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 03:09:39 AM »
I'm no expert but always read patches. What are you seeing there?
Andover, Vermont

Offline Mike payne

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2017, 03:15:24 AM »
I have rifle that was built for me 40 years ago. It is a 36 cal Douglas 1in 66 twist 42" barrel it has always liked  30 grains 3f snug lenin patch ( don't know the thickness) and 350 ball. At 50 yds off a rest it will shoot a 2" group if I don't screw it up.

Mike

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 03:20:53 AM »
Not sure how an example of someone else's barrel might help,  yours is yours.
Like Rich said, read your patches.  I'd say you'll find some shredding going on. Shoot a few, and pick them up.  You should be able to reuse them.
In His grip,

Dane

Offline Standing Bear

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2017, 04:49:40 AM »
Try 40-50 gr FFg, a .355 ball and denim patch wet w saliva cut at the muzzle. Works in my .36 cal 42” GM flinter.
TC
Nothing is hard if you have the right equipment and know how to use it.  OR have friends who have both.

http://texasyouthhunting.com/

Online smylee grouch

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2017, 05:57:53 AM »
I think your just going to have to try many different combos and keep track. Only change one factor at a time and shoot enough shots of each so you get a good sample.