Author Topic: Lock mortise  (Read 3124 times)

Uncle Alvah

Lock mortise
« on: October 17, 2017, 05:17:18 PM »
I'll be inletting for my lock soon. Considering this is my first build, can some of the center wood of the mortise be removed with a drill press and small Forstner bit, or should I stick with the chisels?

Offline SingleMalt

• One day I'll be considered a good builder.
Re: Lock mortise
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 05:32:00 PM »
For internal lock parts, certainly.  Mark the bit with tape or a collar for your stop point.  In fact, mark it a bit short of final depth.  For the lockplate and bolster, stick to chisels.  Make certain the lockplate is square with the top barrel flat.  Using a small square, check it often and make corrections.
Never drink whisky that isn't old enough to vote.

"The penalty good men pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men."- Plato

"The Constitution shall never be construed to prevent the people of the United States who are peaceable citizens from keeping their own arms."

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2017, 05:37:07 PM »
Alvah,
Inlet the plate , with no internals FIRST.  Full depth, bolster tight against barrel.
Then you can mark your screw holes to lay out the internal parts, and use a drill press to get the holes augered out.
As with any power tool,  be careful, you can do a lot of damage......fast.
In His grip,

Dane

Offline L. Akers

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 05:37:58 PM »
That is how I inlet my locks only I use a small, straight router bit instead of a forestner bit.

Offline Chowmi

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2017, 05:38:36 PM »
Yes,