Author Topic: To welt or not to welt  (Read 3480 times)

Offline scottmc

To welt or not to welt
« on: January 30, 2018, 09:04:02 PM »
That is my question.  I've been dabbling with bag making for a few years now and have just finished up a couple recently but I very rarely use a welt.  Not knowing if many originals had them or not since you don't see many side shots of bags, I was wondering what the bag makers here think.  First, what is the purpose of the welt and second do see them more than not on bags from the 19th and 18th century? 

The bag in the photo I made a couple years ago using bark tan goat.  No welt but solid stitched bag.
Remember Paoli!

Offline Cades Cove Fiddler

Re: To welt or not to welt
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 11:08:14 PM »
 ??? ??? ???... Are you referring to an actual "welt" , or perhaps a "gusset", between the front and back pieces...??... just curious ... Thanx, C C Fiddler .... ??? ??? ??? 

Offline David R. Pennington

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 03:56:40 AM »
Welts and gusset.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2020, 05:36:33 AM by Ky-Flinter »
VITA BREVIS- ARS LONGA

Offline scottmc

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 05:29:06 AM »
Cades, I'm talking about a welt, not a gusset.  What is its purpose first off and then do you see much of it on early original bags?  Dave, nice bag!  The gusset does offer extra room to carry items for sure. 
Does the welt protect the threads more?  The following bag I just finished up last night by rubbing in some bear fat.  As you can see, no welt but you can see the stitching.  Just wondering.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2020, 05:37:06 AM by Ky-Flinter »
Remember Paoli!

Offline okieboy

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 05:29:48 PM »