Author Topic: Hacker Martin Stamp vs Signature  (Read 3231 times)

Offline Cory McArtor

Hacker Martin Stamp vs Signature
« on: February 03, 2018, 08:16:08 PM »
I recently saw a flintlock pistol attributed to Hacker Martin for sale. The top flat of the barrel has his name stamped into the metal. I've got no experience in this sort of thing. Do you all know if it was common for Hacker Martin rifles and pistols to be stamped rather than signed?  Thanks, Cory.

Offline Cades Cove Fiddler

Re: Hacker Martin Stamp vs Signature
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 08:31:04 PM »
 8) 8).... Cory, ... Only signed guns by Hacker Martin that I have seen were hand engraved .... not saying he didn't stamp some ,.... post  pic of the signature if you have one ... I have a pistol that two of his associates have authenticated .... is not marked ... they say that Hacker did not sign the ones he made for Turner Kirkland to sell, ... only signed the ones he sold to individuals .... fine engraving on this one is thought to be by Lester Smith, who worked with Hacker in the early 1950's .... 

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 09:03:02 PM »
 ;) ;)... Just did a "bing" search on the old net,.... check it out ... several pix under "images" of his work.... he did have a small stamp that he marked locks with, and found one pic of a pistol with this stamp on barrel ..... anything possible ... !!! .... Regards, C C Fiddler ....

Offline Shreckmeister

• GGGG Grandpa Schrecengost Gunsmith/Miller
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2018, 10:13:22 PM »
There was an unsigned Hacker Martin pistol in a local gunshop here that was going to be consigned.  Every week I would stop
and ask if they had priced it and were ready to sell.  After about 2 months, I went in and it was gone.  Apparently the attorney
handling the estate that was going to sell them recalled it and it never went for sale.  He wasn't the greatest gunsmith of all
time but he was good and his story is great.  Oh well.