Author Topic: Barrel twists for patched round and mini-balls, for best accuracy.  (Read 5832 times)

IC2(SS)19Z50C5B8

Okay.. Here goes. Time to jump into the pool, so to speak. I'm brand new here.
And my question may have been already asked previously. So bear with me.
I'm not new to shooting, or to shooting BP muzzler loaders, but I'm new to flintlocks. (I have three percussion cap lock CW/WNA era rifles) but I just purchased my first flintlock rifle awhile ago. A Traditions .50 Caliber Pennysalvainia rifle. After purchasing it, (it has a 1-66 twist barrel), I started surfing the comparable items on Dixie gun works in that caliber. I noticed the differences in twist in this caliber.. So, when it comes to patched round balls in this caliber, what twist tends to be more accurate??.. (Since I'm on the high side of 66, I figger' this thread is the best one to mebe' post this question on. But if it's not, please let me know.... (more about CW/WNA rifled muskets and their twists later)
Please Advise,
as Woodrow would say, "Many Thanks"

Offline smylee grouch

Re: Barrel twists for patched round and mini-balls, for best accuracy.
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2018, 05:20:59 AM »
The best is the one you have if you do your part in working up the right load for what you have. In a general sort of way lower powder charges for a faster rate of twist-larger powder charges for a slower twist. This is all if your ball/patch/lube combo is "right". When working up the best load there are a lot of different combinations that should be considered. What do you consider accurate? Some people think keeping them in the black is ok but some want them all to be in the 10 ring at what ever yardage.

IC2(SS)19Z50C5B8

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2018, 06:36:36 AM »
Hey Smylee, Thanks for the feedback.. Much appreciated..