Author Topic: Set trigger adjustment  (Read 2100 times)

Offline flint45

• Starting Member
Set trigger adjustment
« on: February 21, 2018, 06:31:58 AM »
I have excessive free play between the rear trigger bar and the sear bar. The triggers function, and trip the lock, but when unset, I don't like the excess free play. I cant see inletting the triggers deep enough to eliminate the free play, so  would it be acceptable to sliver solder some metal to the top of the rear trigger bar to take up the slack? I suppose I could heat and bend the sear bar, but sure as heck, I'll break it. Only my fourth rifle, so I'm still learning!

Offline Bill Raby

Re: Set trigger adjustment
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2018, 07:28:55 AM »
Solder some metal to the top then file it back until it fits perfect. Gets the job done.

Offline okieboy

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2018, 07:38:29 AM »
 I'm not sure what you consider "excess", but there should be some play between the rear trigger and the sear when not set. The trigger is supposed to strike the sear, not push it. Also one doesn't want the trigger to possibly affect how the sear engages the full cock notch and one can only be certain of noninterference if there is slack.
Okieboy

Offline Nordnecker

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2018, 03:15:39 PM »
If you take your trigger out of the gun and watch the mechanism as you set it, I think you will see that the trigger bar needs a little room to rise before it engages. Also, if the bar actually touches the sear, it can make for a bad situation- The lock may not hold in the cocked position. Or, it might not hold securely enough. Test by cocking the lock, setting the trigger and tapping the butt of the gun on the bench top. If it won't hold at 1/2 cock, it could be the trigger bar is contacting the sear.

I think I'm saying the same thing as Okieboy. It's been over a year since I've had to do this so my description might not be acurate.