Author Topic: D. Boone / S. Kenton rifles?  (Read 4493 times)

Offline David R. Pennington

D. Boone / S. Kenton rifles?
« on: March 21, 2018, 04:18:38 PM »
Well after living in this area all my life I finally made it out to Huntington to see the Herman Dean collection. Overall very impressed but somewhat perplexed by the rifles supposed to have belonged to D. Boone and S. Kenton. I am not an expert by any means but Kenton’s gun looks too late (deep curved butt and slim butt stock) and Boone’s looks European?
My favorite was the one in the same case with wooden PB lid labelled transition rifle.
VITA BREVIS- ARS LONGA

Offline wildcatter

Re: D. Boone / S. Kenton rifles?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 10:29:25 PM »
I don't recall weather or not you can take pictures there, my guess is you can't, but I would love to get some pictures of the rifle you mention with the wood patchbox labeled transitional.

Matt
You have to play this game like somebody just hit your mother with a two-by-four.

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2018, 10:55:15 PM »
I've seen probably a dozen or more old guns with D BOONE scratched into the stock....he owned a lot of guns. ;)
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline Howard

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2018, 02:59:38 AM »
We have a tree that states DBoone killed a Bar in this tree.  I'm sure it is real.

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2018, 02:39:07 PM »
They allow non flash photos of permanant displays only. Here are some shots of transitional rifle. Hard to get good ones through glass window.

VITA BREVIS- ARS LONGA

« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2018, 02:41:51 PM »
Some more, looks like lock might be replacement?

VITA BREVIS- ARS LONGA

Offline Bigmon

« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2018, 04:27:49 PM »