Author Topic: black powder percussion cap hunting rifle popular in the early 1870s  (Read 6225 times)

seekscharles

Hi. I am a third grade teacher. My class is currently reading Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I have never owned a gun, but I own an antique bullet mold and a cast iron bullet ladle. I am sure many of you might be able to figure out what kind of black powder percussion cap hunting rifle popular Charles Ingalls might have used in the early 1870s, of Lake Pepin, Wisconsin. If so, I would love the help.

Currently, I am using images from the books Eyewitness Books: Arms & Armor by Michele Byam and Gun: A Visual History edited by Chris Stone, the artifacts I mentioned, and some pictures of Civil War era percussion caps to help describe Pa's nightly rifle prepping rituals.

Thank you, in advance. (I may not be quick at responding.)

Offline smylee grouch

Re: black powder percussion cap hunting rifle popular in the early 1870s
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2018, 03:04:11 AM »
His rifle could have been made several years prior to the 1870s, if you knew if it was a Wisconsin made gun it might be a little easier to narrow down.

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2018, 05:58:50 PM »
The majority of folks that enjoy muzzleloading firearms, assume that modern metallic cartridge guns immediately took over the firearm market when they became widely available. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Gunsmiths ( especially those in remote areas where cartridges were’nt readily available) were still making muzzleloaders. And even in metropolitan areas many serious target shooters shot high end, custom built, muzzleloading target rifles.
 Guns made during this period often sported back action lock, little, or no decoration, and often had peep sights, or even an early telescopic sight.

Hungry Horse

Offline Carl Young

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2018, 06:24:25 PM »