Author Topic: Ram's horn knife handles  (Read 3196 times)

Offline Ky-Flinter

• Global Moderator
  • Born in Kentucke, just 250 years late
Ram's horn knife handles
« on: May 01, 2018, 03:17:42 AM »
I mounted some ram's horn scales on a Russell Green River skinner blade I picked up at the CLA Show.  I've never worked with ram's horn before.  As I worked the edges of the scales down it is solid inside and files down nicely, but I want to keep the outer surface of the horn as is.  The surface looks like real course hair compressed into a solid.  If you worry the surface the strands will fuzz up.  I think I need to apply some sort of protective finish, but what?  The last picture is the actual color.  Suggestions please.  And thank you.  -Ron

« Last Edit: May 01, 2018, 03:19:15 AM by Ky-Flinter »
Ron Winfield

Life is too short to hunt with an ugly gun. -Nate McKenzie

Offline smokinbuck

Re: Ram's horn knife handles
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2018, 05:59:45 PM »
No experience with rams horn but you might think about a thin coating of clear, satin, epoxy.
Mark
Mark

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2018, 08:41:15 PM »
How about thin CA glue?
Dennis
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline tippit

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2018, 10:49:19 PM »
I use sheep horn scales.  All I do is use Montana Pitch Blend or any wax.  Use a hair dryer to melt in.  Those sheep and rams are running around in all kinds of weather...very durable material.  Epoxy or CA glue will just gum up the natural texture.

Sheep Horn Scales...

Offline Greg Pennell

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2018, 04:12:59 PM »
Tippit, that’s a gorgeous knife!

Ron, I’ve not used any sheep horn yet, but I’ve used several of those Green River blades. My problem is my wife loves them for kitchen knives... : :o. Guess I’ll just have to make her a set of her own.