Author Topic: I need some finishing advice, another coat of AQF then stain?  (Read 2210 times)

leoparddog

Newbee disclaimer: this is my first build.

Yesterday I applied a tannin wash and after it dried, a coat of Jim Kibler's Iron Nitrate and heated it - turned much blacker than I expected. I think its taken me 8 hours to get it knocked back.  The original plan was to apply a coat of LMF Maple stain at this point but I'm not that happy with the way it looks now.  I'm considering whether to apply a second coat of the Iron Nitrate and heat it again to see if I can get some of the figure back. 

I guess the question is, if I applied the Maple stain first and don't like how it turns out, could I put a second coat of Iron Nitrate over the LMF stain and rub it out again?  Or is the right order of process, Iron Nitrate first then stain last?

Thanks

Offline Joe S.

• the other Joe S.
Re: I need some finishing advice, another coat of AQF then stain?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2018, 12:13:14 AM »
Thinking maybe you rubbed it out to much.I had practiced on scraps cutoffs from my blank.My tannin wash was used to whisker,then again,then applied Jim's fortis.Turned black,then put the heat to it it turned chocolate brown.I then rubbed it back,before oil finish.

leoparddog

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2018, 12:24:55 AM »
Thanks Joe,
Yes, I probably did rub it back a bit much, but on the first pass through it was such a dark brown.  I was wanting something a bit brighter with red tones and not the dark chocolate brown

Offline Joe S.

• the other Joe S.
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2018, 12:29:52 AM »
Mine was a chocolate Brown but a little rub back,not much,it popped after the oil finish.At first I too thought it was too dark.Not having any experience, my first build.It was trial and error on the tannin,had plenty of scrap.

Offline Joe S.

• the other Joe S.
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2018, 12:44:05 AM »