Author Topic: Making a frizzen spring  (Read 1961 times)

Offline David R. Pennington

Making a frizzen spring
« on: August 05, 2018, 04:42:56 AM »
I started a new thread for this so as not to hijack Bob Rollers spring thread. (Disclaimer, Bob knows what he is doing, I am a student.)

My forge pattern and filing jig combined.

Cutting pin.

Pin filed.

Shaping finial and fitting to lock.

Ready for heat treating. So far I have more time in filing the finial than in making the whole spring.
VITA BREVIS- ARS LONGA

Offline B.Barker

Re: Making a frizzen spring
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2018, 05:17:50 AM »
Looks good to me.

Online rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2018, 05:27:03 AM »
I did not see if you bumped up the boss for the screw or started with thick enough stock.  Looks great!
Andover, Vermont

Offline Rolf

• There's more than one way to skin a cat.
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2018, 09:10:55 AM »
Beautiful work. I really like the final

Best regards

Rolf

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2018, 01:29:51 PM »
Hi David,
Very nice post!  I make frizzen springs by cutting into one side of the spring stock where the finial will be, heating that cut section red hot and turning in perpendicular to the rest of the spring.  That forms the base for the finial, then I mound weld on top of it that will form the finial.

dave
"The main accomplishment of modern economics is to make astrology look good."

Offline Craig Wilcox

« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2018, 01:48:02 PM »
David, I had always wondered of the little finial was cast in a form or sawn and filed - your pictures clearly show sawn and filed.  Would there be an advantage to having a little female form to tap the finial into?
Good looking spring!
Craig Wilcox
We are all elated when Dame Fortune smiles at us, but remember that she is always closely followed by her daughter, Miss Fortune.

« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2018, 02:27:55 PM »