Author Topic: Bucks County rifle by Paul Wilder  (Read 4340 times)

Offline JLSawyer

Bucks County rifle by Paul Wilder
« on: August 05, 2018, 02:57:02 PM »
Hello All,

Long time reader, first time poster here...haha. I'm posting in the hopes of getting some opinions on a gunbroker purchase I just made. It is a Bucks County rifle made by a gentleman named Paul Wilder from Watertown, NY. I'm new to flintlock shooting and I know the names and work of various contemporary builders, but I have not heard of this builder before. I followed the auction for the past week and studied the pictures very closely before bidding. With twenty minutes left in the auction I bid at the starting bid price and to my surprise no one else bid on it. I was able to get it for $1,500 plus $55 shipping.

The rifle appears to be very well made and the architecture seems correct to Bucks County rifles attributed to John Shuler. It exhibits most if not all of the classic Shuler traits from what I can see. It also appears to be in unfired condition. I was't sure if the silver star inlays were correct but I think they are a nice feature. Also wasn't sure as to why the builder incorporated two different patch box release buttons.

So what do you think? Give it to me straight? Good, bad, or otherwise. Did I make a good purchase. Is it a good rifle? Did I get a good deal? I know the best way to buy is to see it in person and hold it first but that's not how Gunbroker works so here we are. Would love to hear everyones thoughts. Really appreciate it. Take care.

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/779824514

Best Regards,

Josh Sawyer
Lititz, PA
« Last Edit: August 05, 2018, 03:03:19 PM by JLSawyer »
Best Regards,

Josh Sawyer

Online rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Bucks County rifle by Paul Wilder
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2018, 03:09:31 PM »