Author Topic: loss of accuracy after several hundred shots?  (Read 2069 times)

Offline LH

loss of accuracy after several hundred shots?
« on: August 15, 2018, 02:20:38 PM »
I started shooting a new barrel last winter.  After patch/ball testing with a scope glued on,  I found a load that was veryVERY accurate. Like ten shot groups at 100yds in the 2.5" and sometimes better range. (when the wind wasn't blowing)  I didn't just shoot that load a few times with the scope either.  Probably on 6 or 8 consecutive days with the same results.  I shot this gun all spring in several  matches with fantastic results.  All the matches were offhand and I shot some of the best scores I have ever shot with it. Always able to call my shots to nearly nothing.  I could not shoot for a couple of months (June and July) and when I went back to practicing for Friendship two weeks ago,  I started getting wild shots on a regular basis.  I glued the scope back on after a few days and my groups are now in the 6" to 8" range.  The gun was stored with the same light machine oil I use in all my guns and has never seen a speck of rust.  Sights are not moving,  something has happened to the bore I believe just from shooting several hundred rounds.  I have seen this before with another brand of barrel, and once before with a barrel of the same manufacture as this one.  In the past I have "cured" it by very aggressive polishing with lapping compound on cloth patches and a lot of elbow grease.  I have no idea what the culprit is though and am wondering if any of yall have encountered this.  ?  thanks.

Offline bob in the woods

Re: loss of accuracy after several hundred shots?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2018, 02:58:07 PM »