Author Topic: Tippit Forge...Finished Knife with Pictures  (Read 1974 times)

Offline tippit

Tippit Forge...Finished Knife with Pictures
« on: August 27, 2018, 05:25:50 AM »
I haven't been in my forge since the middle of May when we headed back to New England from SC.  Been a bit out of sorts as I lost my little hunting buddy...Cash my blood trailing wired haired Dachshund due to acute leukemia/stage 5 lymphoma.  I'm a retired veterinarian but I was helpless to aid her.  I had to let her go in peace six weeks after the diagnosis.  Just now getting back to some of the things I've enjoyed doing.

Fired up the forge today,  Started 10 1/2 inch knife from 5160 carbon steel, ground and fitted to bear tibia bone.  Next to quench & temper then to glue & pin blade to bone.  Finally poured pewter bolster, stain and antique bone & blade.  May do some file work for thumb grip...tippit 

« Last Edit: August 28, 2018, 10:28:45 PM by tippit »

Offline P.W.Berkuta

Re: Tippit Forge
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2018, 07:20:05 PM »
I like the blade but I am not a fan of all the rough hammer marks. My taste runs toward a completely finished blade nicely polished - just me ;). Not too sure on the handle - to my eyes it looks "bulky" towards the back - maybe with the bolster on it will look better :-\?
"The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it." - Chinese proverb

Online Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2018, 07:41:50 PM »
I like what you have done so far. I like to see a hand forged knife look hand forged. Looking forward to seeing it finished.
Dennis
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline Elnathan

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2018, 09:19:03 PM »