Author Topic: Newbie seeking advice  (Read 1699 times)

Offline Obi2winky

Newbie seeking advice
« on: October 09, 2018, 07:59:48 PM »
Hello evryone,

I’ve been interested in building an American long rifle for a while now, and am wondering how does one get started? I have no woodworking background. I’ve read the 117 page pdf from this forum on the steps to building one. Extremely well written with easy to understand steps  but it seemed like it assumes basic skills and knowledge. I  wasn’t sure how an absolute complete novice begins to learn the skills necessary. I would have to purchase a set of tools for it also. Any advice to get a complete newbie started on the road to a first rifle would be appreciated. Thanks!

Offline Frank

Re: Newbie seeking advice
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 08:08:23 PM »
Get one of Jim KIbler's kits. Like putting legos together.

https://kiblerslongrifles.com/

Offline Daryl

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2018, 08:12:53 PM »
Many gun builders started when they were little kids- building swords as well as bows and arrows, ships, airplanes, and etc.

Some, like brother Taylor, developed into building guns from age 16 onward.

Others like myself, simply shoot guns built by others, as I quickly recognized (by age 25?) my lack of skill at building ML's but really enjoy shooting them.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2018, 09:33:34 PM by Daryl »
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline frizzen3

• Starting Member
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2018, 08:31:56 PM »
Where are you located?          Frizzen3

Offline Obi2winky

« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2018, 09:00:29 PM »
I’m in Ma

Offline Kingsburyarms

• Jon Rider
  • Administrator
  • Jon Rider
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2018, 11:13:51 PM »
What part of MA? I’m in Holliston, you are welcome to stop by and see what this is all about.....

Jon

Offline Obi2winky

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2018, 01:53:05 AM »