Author Topic: What is accurate  (Read 6838 times)

Offline smylee grouch

What is accurate
« on: October 10, 2018, 06:38:54 AM »
I have been coming to this site now for several years and the topic of good shooting and loading technique has been hashed over many times. One problem I see is that what is good shooting to some is not even close to others. I myself want my guns to shoot groups as good as the gun can produce but others are satisfied with min. of deer,good enough, or adequate for the job. Maybe we should all define " what is accurate " to get an idea as to what other people think.

Offline flinchrocket

Re: What is accurate
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2018, 06:50:40 AM »
Jed Clampett could shoot flies off the front gate,but I don't recall he give the yardage.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2018, 06:59:29 AM »
Accurate is achieving one’s objective when shooting. “Minute of deer” seems a mocking phrase but apparently means one can deliver a fatal shot at deer one considers in range under local conditions. “Minute of squirrel” might mean one is able to routinely make a head shot on a squirrel at ranges up to possibly 40 yards in the woods. A chunk gun or bench rest shooter may want better than minute of angle accuracy from their rifle, so with all the human and environmental variables, hitting the x ring would not be accidental. It’s all about the goal and being able to achieve it.
Andover, Vermont

Offline smylee grouch

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2018, 07:10:31 AM »
Well put Rich, I agree with you. Min. of deer was not meant to be a mocking phrase but to show the different accuracy requirements of all the different shooters which you did in your response. Thank you for a better way of saying it than I did.  :)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2018, 10:38:36 PM by smylee grouch »

Offline alacran

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2018, 01:17:12 PM »