Author Topic: Inletting a lollipop tang  (Read 2203 times)

Offline sdilts

Inletting a lollipop tang
« on: October 17, 2018, 03:02:24 PM »
My next build will have a lollipop tang. I've never done one before so I'm looking for some tips to ease the process.

Turtle

Re: Inletting a lollipop tang
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2018, 03:32:09 PM »
 It's difficult not to end up with a gap at the front of the lollypop. I have found a more extremely angled draft on the front of the lollypop  and going slow helps.
                                                        Turtle

Offline Cory Joe Stewart

• My etsy shop
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2018, 03:57:58 PM »
Turtle is right, that gap can easily appear in front of the lollypop.  Another trick that I do is I bend the tang so that I am only inletting a little bit at a time.  Starting with the normal length of the tang.  Once I get it set in I start working the rest of it on down. 

Cory Joe Stewart

Online J. Talbert

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2018, 04:33:12 PM »
I second the advice offered thus for.
Work your way down the tang a little at a time and put plenty of draft on the upper side of the lollipop.
Be very careful removing any wood on that upper side.  Make sure everything else is fitting properly and that that is in fact the spot that needs to be trimmed before you remove more wood.

Jeff
There are no solutions.  There are only trade-offs.”
Thomas Sowell

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2018, 04:40:24 PM »
My next build will have a lollipop tang. I've never done one before so I'm looking for some tips to ease the process.

One tip would be to have the patience of a cigar store indian.I have seen these and wondered
why or what was the idea to begin with.Probably someone with lots of time on their hands.
IF I were going to try this,I would inlet the wrench lug first then perhaps elevate the barrel to level