Author Topic: Help needed with carving design  (Read 1382 times)

Offline BillF/TRF

Help needed with carving design
« on: October 18, 2018, 12:20:15 AM »
I recently finished building a Chambers York County rifle and am ready to do some decorating.  I have attached a photo of my practice blank (carved from a chunk of hard maple).  I drew a design that was inspired mainly from colonial gunsmith George Schreyer along with some of my own embellishments.  I am looking for some constructive criticism--too complex a design (I have some woodcarving experience with basswood & butternut carvings and a good collection of gouges and chisels), design elements that don't belong or are drawn incorrectly, design too close to border, etc.  Thanks in advance!

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
Re: Help needed with carving design
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2018, 01:23:21 AM »
Nicely done.  Just one thing I notice.
Floral designs flow from a base.  Like a real plant.  The tendrils, fore and aft of the cheekpiece, should "grow" from there.
Other than that, very smooth transitions are what it's about.
A couple of tweaks, and start carving.
In His grip,

Dane

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2018, 04:14:04 AM »
Has a 1790s feel.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Jerry V Lape

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2018, 08:22:26 AM »