Author Topic: Screw tip powder horn  (Read 4114 times)

Offline Mike Lyons

• Afghanvet
Screw tip powder horn
« on: November 03, 2018, 09:55:06 AM »
This is my first attempt at making a powder horn.  I’m following Tim Crosby’s tutorial.  I have the horn tapped and I’m measuring for the collar and tip.  How long are the tips? Are they  normally the size of a standard drill bit?   I’m using a honkin whitetail deer rack to make the collar and tip and I’m barely going to be able to make the collar fit.  It looks like the base of the rack is the best piece for the collar.  The big buck population must have been hurtin in PA when they were pumping out screw tip horns.

Offline Nordnecker

Re: Screw tip powder horn
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2018, 02:36:15 PM »
I've only made one screw tip horn so take this for what it's worth. Deer antler has a pith. It is softer and has more pores on the inside. The outside "rind" is smooth and tough. By the time you shape down the piece that you show, you'll be in the pith. Maybe this is how it was done. I honestly don't know.
"I can no longer stand back and allow communist infiltration, communist indoctrination and the international communist conspiracy to sap and impurify our precious bodily fluids."- Gen Jack T. Ripper

Offline Tim Crosby

• Administrator
  • AKA TimBuckII
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2018, 02:36:54 PM »