Author Topic: Round ball in motion pic  (Read 4462 times)

Offline hatman

Round ball in motion pic
« on: November 14, 2018, 09:09:46 AM »
A friend just sent me this picture of me in super slo-mo.  You can see the round ball (50 cal) out front.  :)
I just wanted to share it here as I love this site and although I'm relatively new to flintlocks I do love them so.
I've learned so much from you guys.

« Last Edit: November 14, 2018, 09:11:51 AM by hatman »

Offline wattlebuster

Re: Round ball in motion pic
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2018, 12:34:47 PM »
I see it. Thats cool
Nothing beats the feel of a handmade southern iron mounted flintlock on a cold frosty morning

Offline Don Steele

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2018, 01:49:58 PM »
Very cool picture. Thank You.
Look at the world with a smilin' eye and laugh at the devil as his train rolls by...(Alison Krauss)

Offline Molly

« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2018, 03:44:03 PM »
Yes, it is "cool".  Also like the design of that firing line.

Offline smylee grouch

« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2018, 03:54:51 PM »
 That dark round spot almost looks too cool to me. I was thinking it should look smaller at that range. 1/2 inch dia. at that range is hard for these old eyes to see, maybe that why my shooting has gone down hill so far,  ;D   :)

Offline Daryl

« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2018, 08:47:41 PM »
That is pretty cool picture. Interesting the ball appears black, silhouetted against the back ground.

I've watched with binocs at times when shooting #13 target at our range. It used to be a fox silhouette, but not changed to a large heart. Range is 92yards, iirc.
With the binocs, twice I have seen balls from a smoothbore arc towards the target, spot-on, only to veer to one side or the other, or dive into the snow seemingly in the last 3 or 4 feet of travel.