Author Topic: HC but not PC new bag/ What's in my bag?  (Read 2267 times)

Steve Patterson

HC but not PC new bag/ What's in my bag?
« on: November 28, 2018, 08:47:41 PM »
I've sure seen some beautiful craftsmanship and period correct stuff on this site......
But this isn't one of them. Still I thought some of you would be interested. I say this is HC in that everything here is either repurposed from what was in the house already or given to me by family or both except the primer, flint, and turnscrew. My wife and I joke about "you know how I  know you were raised by people who were raised by people who grew up in the great depression?".
 The bag is the top 8" off of an old pair of my 16" whites fire boots that can't be rebuilt anymore with an extra used belt out of my closet. My Dad made the horn, gave me the rifle and rod tools. The pocket knife is one I inherited from Dad's Dad. I made the charger. I inherited the blanket pin from my wife's Mom's Dad.

I'm just starting out and I'm sure I'll keep tinkering and making some better stuff where needed or wanted, but this does me well for a walk in the woods for now. First things to make are a hammer stall and cow's knee. Thanks for looking and thanks for posting all of your stuff so I have ideas where to go from here.

Offline hanshi

• My passion is longrifles!
    • martialartsusa.com
Re: HC but not PC new bag/ What's in my bag?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2018, 11:35:48 PM »
Not a bad kit at all!
!Jozai Senjo! "always present on the battlefield"
Young guys should hang out with old guys; old guys know stuff.

Offline Greg Pennell

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2018, 03:14:23 AM »
Using what you have...I understand completely, because I was raised by someone who was raised during the Depression!  I don’t think I can remember my dad EVER throwing anything away...

Greg
“Let your gun therefore be the constant companion of your walks” Thomas Jefferson

Offline mountainman70

• USAF vet 1971-1972 malmstrom afb,montana