Author Topic: 40 years in the making  (Read 1410 times)

Offline rick/pa

40 years in the making
« on: December 05, 2018, 03:52:32 AM »
Good day fellas,  I don’t post very often, preferring to benefit from other’s knowledge and experience on this site which is extensive and for which I give all of you thanks.  I’ve noticed a good deal of interest in English rifles which I have always admired.  I thought I’d share my own experience in building a rifle but at the same time I’m like the father who wants to show off his newborn child but still apprehensive that some one in the back of the room is going to call out "Hey, the kid’s cross eyed and drools".  Anyway, here goes. 

I started shooting BP in 1962 when I was 14 with an original .36 caplock. By 1975 I wanted a flintlock and decided to build one. Of course I got it all wrong and it now occupies a place of honor in the deepest darkest corner of the safe. By 77 I had built two more benefitting from previous mistakes. In 78 I decided to build an English rifle. Now this was back in the heyday of the Hawkin rifle and not many parts were available for an English rifle.  I had one of Jerry Cunningham’s Montana Rifle barrels in .50 x 35” x 7/8” and a maple halfstock.  I bought the L&R Durs Egg which might have been the only English style back then and dug up what looked to me like a shotgun style buttplate that would be similar to what might have been used. A trigger guard rounded out the beginnings.  I got the barrel, lock and buttplate inletted..…then I got married.