Author Topic: Recommendations for finish on barrel and metal parts  (Read 2711 times)

Davyboy

Recommendations for finish on barrel and metal parts
« on: December 09, 2018, 07:52:40 PM »
Does anyone have a recommendation for finishes on barrel/metal parts  I have a TVM late Lancaster kit ordered and I will have to finish the barrel and metal parts myself. I’ve been reading up on different methods (rust blueing, cold bluing, hot bluing, browning, etc.).  Obviously, I want the most durable, corrosive resistant finish I can get, but I’ve never done any kind of metal treatment before.  I’ve made several inquiries to different places about having it done, but no one seems to be able to handle the longer barrel (42”), so it looks like I’m doing it myself-  if anyone has a method or brand of finish that they prefer, I’d appreciate the input.

Thanks,

Dave

Offline sqrldog

Re: Recommendations for finish on barrel and metal parts
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 08:14:39 PM »
Contact Tom Snyder, Hancock Michigan. He probably can be of assistance. I have two rifles with barrels that Tom charcoal blued. He is a very competent gunsmith. Tom once posted on the ALR.

Offline sqrldog

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2018, 08:18:48 PM »

Offline Ky-Flinter

• Global Moderator
  • Born in Kentucke, just 250 years late
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2018, 08:40:46 PM »
Hi Dave,