Author Topic: Flint touch up  (Read 1568 times)

Daryl Pelfrey

Flint touch up
« on: January 18, 2019, 04:31:27 AM »
Im trying to find a tutorial on keeping the flint cland up/straight. Cant find one hre. I did rwad a article on usjng a nakl with a notch cut n it once. How do you guys do it? Im just getting into flinters.

Offline M. E. Pering

Re: Flint touch up
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 05:18:04 AM »
Never heard of a nakl… er… nail with a notch filed in it.  But I just pressure flake mine in the field with a piece of antler, though I usually carry spare sharp flints with me, so not usually an issue.  I cut my own flints from nodules, and once I get a good flake struck of the nodule, I mount a cold chisel straight up in a vise, and put the fine edge on it with a small tack hammer.

Knapping flints does take some practice, and my way is certainly not the only way.  I have also used chert that is native in this area instead of flint, and though it works, I much prefer English flint.  I was fortunate that archaeology classes in college had labs attached, and we had to learn flint knapping.  200 dollars a credit hour well spent. ;) 

Matt

Edit:  Better yet, watch this guy's excellent videos on it

« Last Edit: January 18, 2019, 05:52:29 AM by M. E. Pering »

Daryl Pelfrey

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 07:04:54 AM »
Lol,,, I sure can spell. My fat fingers get me in trouble. Thanks for the info. I did find a couple articles on it.
 Thankyou sir.

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 08:33:16 AM »
http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=5590.0

Here's a thread on knapping the flint...about half way down the first page I posted some images of me going about the process.  Hope this is what you were looking for.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Daryl Pelfrey

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2019, 02:37:45 PM »