Author Topic: Dead soft lead  (Read 3302 times)

Offline hortonstn

Dead soft lead
« on: January 17, 2019, 03:26:07 AM »
What is dead soft lead and where does one fine it?

Offline Nhgrants

Re: Dead soft lead
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 03:42:27 AM »
I would say lead roofing flashing is as soft as it will get.  I am not an expert on the subject.
It's my understanding that all lead is recycled so basically nothing is pure. Flashing is
Supposedly close to be all lead ad has a hardness of around 5.

Online bob in the woods

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2019, 03:50:31 AM »
I've got a 100 pound bar of what was described to me as plumber's lead. Seems pretty pure

Offline mossyhorn

• Jerry Dickerson
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2019, 04:48:37 AM »
I'm using Hornady precast roundballs in .310 and was wondering if they are pure lead?
Jerry Dickerson

Offline Scota4570

« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2019, 05:28:28 AM »

Offline Daryl

« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2019, 09:46:25 AM »
I'm using Hornady precast roundballs in .310 and was wondering if they are pure lead?

The balls Hornady sells at .310" for muzzleloading rifles, are about as pure as you will find.

We started using the term dead soft when describing the balls we cast, due to some nit-pickers who said our pure lead, plumbers or roofing flashing wasn't pure as
it contains up to 1 1/2% of other alloys or materials - thus, the 98.6% pure Plumbers lead was not 100% pure.
We lucked in to the lining from the X-ray room at the hospital when they changed rooms. It is more pure than-is plumbers lead as I have to add a bit of tin, 1/2" of 50/50 to 20 pounds,
to prevent excess crusting on top from oxidation.
So - roof flashing - quite pure - dead soft
Sewer roof vents - quite pure - dead soft
E-Ray Wall lead -- quite pure - dead soft