Author Topic: How to get started making tomahawks  (Read 1790 times)

Offline Cory McArtor

How to get started making tomahawks
« on: February 11, 2019, 08:24:14 AM »
I'm new to woodworking overall (I've assembled one of Jim Kibler's kits) and am wanting to learn the skills needed for gun building.  It seems like making a tomahawk
 or two would be an easier way to start and learn some skills like wood shaping, inlays, making the cutouts for poured pewter (not sure what that is called) etc.  What tools would I need to get started with that?  Are there any books/websites that would be helpful for learning the skills and finding examples to imitate?

Thanks for the help!

Offline webradbury

Re: How to get started making tomahawks
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 11:29:36 AM »
Cory,

Are you talking about forging your own heads or just hafting and finishing premade hawks? I have made both, hawks and rifles. If it were me, and guns is what I wanted to learn, I would jump right in and learn by doing. Also go slow and ask A LOT of questions here...great guys here that love to teach and help out.  As far as forging hawks, obviously it takes a forge and the associated tools. Forging is an art in itself that takes time and practice. Unless you plan on forging your own buttplates and triggerguards, not a lot will carry over to the gunmaking side of things and you will be spending time learning forging when you want to be making guns.

As far as tools, very sharp chisels, rasps and files are a must. Also a good setup for holding your work pieces.  Pouring pewter isn’t that difficult.  Get you some hardwood and practice inletting if you are hesitant about messing up a stock blank. Just have fun! And remember.....

We don’t make mistakes, just happy little accidents. —-Bob Ross
I love the smell of Walnut shavings in the morning!

Offline Cory McArtor

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2019, 02:14:12 PM »