Author Topic: Trigger/Half-cock adjustment  (Read 858 times)

Offline JLayne

Trigger/Half-cock adjustment
« on: February 16, 2019, 10:41:53 PM »
Newbie here . . .again. I am installing a trigger on a Chambers York rifle kit. It has a Chambers Golden Age Germanic lock and a simple trigger that pivots on a pin through the lock mortise. I got the trigger filed down until it works and the lock clicks into place in half-cock and full cock. However, once the lock bolts are installed and tightened, the hammer will still wiggle a bit (1/4 ") if you apply moderate pressure to the trigger in the half-cock setting, and it will fall with a really hard squeeze on the trigger.  Does this mean I need to keep filing more material off of the trigger bar until that is no longer the case? It's my second trigger (yes, I botched the first by taking off too much material leaving way too much free play and a feather-light pull), and I wanted to seek some advice before going at it with the file. I don't know if it matters, but the trigger exhibits a slight springiness even when the hammer is down.

Thanks in advance.
JL

Offline Stophel

• Chris Immel
Re: Trigger/Half-cock adjustment
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2019, 10:52:47 PM »