Author Topic: Which Gun to Build?  (Read 1343 times)

Offline Cotton1of2

• Starting Member
Which Gun to Build?
« on: February 19, 2019, 07:32:20 PM »
Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to the longrifle scene and I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around everything. I wanted to ask some of you more experienced folks a question regarding which gun for my character.

I want to portray a trapper from the early 19th century, after L&C, Colter and Lisa time frame. I’m interested in the beginning of the western exploration before it became crowded by the late 30’s.

I want to build a civilian type flintlock in 50 cal with a shorter barrel, 34-38”. I really like the idea of iron mounts too. I would think this gun should be mfg after 1780s or maybe later. I’m not sure how long a rifle would last on the frontier, so maybe something mfg in the 1800 to 1805 timeframe?

I would really like this rifle to be likely used in this time period or if anyone has a representative artifact to point to, that would be helpful.

Disclaimer: I know there are tons of books on this subject, I just want your opinions and references. I’ll buy a book if I can narrow the hunt down to a school or something.

Please let me know if I can clarify anything.

Thanks everyone, I appreciate the insight.

Online rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Which Gun to Build?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2019, 07:40:04 PM »
You’re probably not going to find a short rifle around 1800-1810. You’re better off finding a rifle from the period you like than stipulating you want these specific features then trying to find a gun that matches. Most trappers carried 9-12 pound guns - on their horses.

The book, For Trade and Treaty has good illustrations of guns traded to Native Americans. Those guns were also representative of what trappers used.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2019, 08:52:32 PM by rich pierce »
Andover, Vermont

Offline Cotton1of2

• Starting Member
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2019, 08:42:08 PM »