Author Topic: Patch and ball combo question for .45  (Read 1959 times)

Offline Zachary

Patch and ball combo question for .45
« on: March 26, 2019, 04:17:29 PM »
I have a new custom built flintlock with a 42” Colerain barrel.45 caliber I’m trying to find a load for so far I’ve been working on a ball and patch combination. I tried a .445 ball and a pillow ticking patch measuring.019 when squeezed hard between the flats of my calipers and mr. flintlock lube. It’s hard getting it down the barrel the first shot when it’s clean after that I thought I would break something getting it down. I tried the same patch and lube with a .440 ball and that was better but still pretty tight. With both I was using 60 grains of goex 3f. I’m really new to BP and would appreciate any advice. I’m trying to find a combo that I don’t need to wipe between shots and according to my measurements that combo isn’t compressed to the bottom of the rifling hardly so I just want to make sure I’m not doing something wrong. If you need more information tell me what. Thanks

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Patch and ball combo question for .45
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 04:34:47 PM »
Just checking to see if you’re sure you have soft lead. Once past the muzzle a patched ball should go down pretty smoothly. Have you tried running a scotchbrite pad using a smaller jag?
Andover, Vermont

Offline Zachary

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 04:40:02 PM »
I’ll put it this way it’s supposed to be pure lead I can dent it easily with my fingernail. I haven’t tried scotchbrite. Just run some up down to polish the bore?

Offline OldMtnMan

• Colorado
    • Verified Ladies  Prime Сasual Dating
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2019, 04:50:19 PM »
How wet are your patches when loading?

Offline Zachary

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2019, 04:59:25 PM »
They are quite damp but not dripping.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2019, 05:00:10 PM »