Author Topic: Maintenance of Polished Steel  (Read 1740 times)

Offline JLayne

Maintenance of Polished Steel
« on: April 05, 2019, 12:40:21 PM »
Hello,
I am a novice builder finishing up a Chambers York Rifle kit, and am beginning to think about metal finishes. I have always loved the look of a polished steel barrel and lock, but have never tried it due to rust concerns. I won't be hunting with this rifle or taking it out in bad weather, but I will be using it for target practice at the range on days when it isn't raining. Once assembled, I don't like to remove the barrel from the stock unless it is absolutely necessary, so I typically clean the bore after a range trip with hot water using one of those siphon tubes that runs from a bucket and attaches to the touch hole to suction water up into the bore to try and keep the mess to a minimum. Still, try as I might, I usually end up getting at least some water on the outer surface of the barrel, and I expect a bit may run down the tiny crevice between the nose cap and barrel. 

So, after having said all of that, I would be interested to know what those of you out there who have non-browned/blued barrels and locks on guns that see regular range use do to keep rust at bay via treatment with wax, oil, some combination of the two, and/or cleaning techniques? Thanks in advance.

Jay
« Last Edit: April 05, 2019, 12:58:52 PM by JLayne »

Offline Nordnecker

Re: Maintenance of Polished Steel
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2019, 02:17:37 PM »
I left the metal bright on my first flintlock. Ed Rayle Bbl and J. Chambers lock. I had it for 4 years and it never got rusty. I shot targets and hunted with a few times. It never got rained on and I always just wiped it down with an oily rag. I got tired of waiting for it to get a little patina so I browned it before I sold it.