Author Topic: New Guy Questions  (Read 1891 times)

Rolf Steiner

New Guy Questions
« on: April 14, 2019, 08:45:30 PM »
I'm fairly new to this forum, this is my first post though I have been lurking and reading for a few months. I'm new to blackpowder, I've been a "gun guy" since I was a lad but always more modern things.  I have gotten started doing 18th Century/RevWar living history and so far have managed to acquire three muskets. Two are Pedersoli Bess's, the third is an Indian made Carolina Gun. I do not intend to live fire the Carolina Gun, its just for burning powder. All three need various degrees of work, some of which I am unsure the best way to progress.

One of the Pedersolis I would like to basically make look a bit more historically correct as an issue musket to the King's troops. I am aware that it has some issues in that regard but I want to correct what I can. The other Pedersoli I intend to fashion into a Committee of Safety musket.  The Carolina Gun is of somewhat questionable architecture, but it looks the part. Other than adding a faux third lock screw and doing a bit of engraving on the sideplate and buttplate its about as good as it will get.

I am hopeful that after doing these various projects I will be ready to attempt something like a Kibler Colonial kit and have it come out at least credible looking and not as my attempt to ruin a fine kit.

So, after all that (geez, this guy talks a lot) my first question:

The Pedersolis, I wish to refinish both of the stocks. What is the best way to strip the factory finish. These are both about 20 years old or so, I dont know if the finish has changed over the years but I mention it just in case. Should I strip it with something, just sand it or scrape it, or some combination of the two?

I am asking about these specifically in case Pedersoli uses something that is a challenge to remove, etc, that a more generalized question might miss. Thanks in advance for your indulgence and advice.

Cheers,