Author Topic: She’s finally done  (Read 3942 times)

Offline Mike Lyons

• Afghanvet
She’s finally done
« on: May 15, 2019, 03:40:34 AM »
This is my first build from a plank.  I apologize for the billion pictures but I’d like the experts to fill me in. I received a lot of advice from this forum and I thank all of you.  The wood was from Stoner Creek and  I followed the Mike Brooks tutorial.  This was the most fun I’ve had in years.  I can’t wait to shoot it. It’s a .36 cal 44” A weight Colerain barrel.  It has a 13 1/2 trigger pull, 1/8 offset and a zornes classic lock.  I tried to build it in the Lehigh style of John Rupp.  It’s finished in Tried and True and Kibler’s Iron Natrate. First time I’ve ever engraved.  I’m not a Master. Haha.  Notice the copper in the toe plate taken from the original rupp rifle.  This was so much fun. Thanks again everyone for the advice.  Mike, Wayne, David and whoever told me to use my thumb and finger to feel the square edge,  you saved me in the end.   Thanks again!!  On to horns!!

« Last Edit: May 15, 2019, 02:54:45 PM by Afghanvet »

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
Re: She’s finally done
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2019, 04:03:22 AM »
Let me be the first to offer congratulations.  This rifle is far nicer than my first build...far far nicer!!  You will enjoy shooting this rifle for the rest of your life, unless you sell it to a complimentary admirer.  I caution against that.  But even if that happens, your next one will be better than the first, and so on.
Nicely done Sir!
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Offline Stoner creek

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2019, 04:07:57 AM »
Fine job Mike. Not many makers out there who’s work looks that good that fast. You’re blessed with a gift! Now keep that ball rolling. I’ll take your next project!! The parts are all here.
Congratulations.
Wayne
Stop Marxism in America

Offline David R. Pennington