Author Topic: Alexander Henry Post Locked  (Read 3790 times)

Offline Taylorz1

Alexander Henry Post Locked
« on: July 03, 2019, 12:20:50 AM »
Hello all

I’m a newbie here and it  certainly is not my place to say anything but I felt like the discussion around Rod England’s Alexander Henry Parts Kit  was in the spirit of this website and there was good dialogue going on. Looking through the archives there are lots of posts pertaining to Longrange bullet rifles made by Whitworth, Edge, Rigby etc. Yes most of the longrange guns Alex Henry made were likely  made post 1860 but he was making rifles prior and lots of longrange percussion rifles were made by other makers prior to 1860 as well. Locking the post because it pertains to too modern a rifle for ALR seems like discussion of contemporary longrifles should also be locked as well as posts pertaining to spaghetti Hawkens and most modern reproductions. The Alex Henry gun is as much in the style of pre 1860 guns as any of these other guns. Just my unsolicited 2c

Offline Bob Roller

Re: Alexander Henry Post Locked
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2019, 01:06:35 AM »

That's my opinion as well. I think Whitworth's experiments with long range muzzle loaders
started before 1860,maybe 1855 at the request of whoever the Queen was then,maybe Victoria.
Bob Roller

Offline Pukka Bundook

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2019, 02:00:20 AM »
Bob,

Such experimentation started in the 1840's and the first really effective long range rifle appeared as the British P '51.   No longer was the battlefield (or target) safe at 1,000 yards, 
You are quite correct, Queen Victoria.

Offline snapper

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2019, 02:43:51 AM »
Well, that is my opinion as well, but I have no power, and I am a biased long range bullet head and lover of English Sporting Rifles.

Fleener
My taste are simple:  I am easily satisfied with the best.  Winston Churchill

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2019, 03:21:36 AM »
Hi Folks,