Author Topic: Virginia Manufactory Rifle wtb  (Read 870 times)

Offline Born200years2late

• Starting Member
Virginia Manufactory Rifle wtb
« on: July 17, 2019, 06:58:22 PM »
I'm currently looking to purchase a Virginia Manufactory Rifle reproduction. The piece I'd been saving up for for the past year unfortunately sold. I'm looking for any of the earlier models. If anyone has one or knows someone they could put me in contact with I'd appreciate it. I'd be really looking for something below 1600 if I can find it as I'm a student but I'd be open to anything up to about 2k or so depending on the situation.
Thank you.

Offline Tanasi01

• Starting Member
Re: Virginia Manufactory Rifle wtb
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2019, 03:41:37 AM »
I tried this once. Itís very difficult and there are only a few surviving examples of rifles. I have only seen one copy and it wasnít that special. I even had an original lock but just couldnít make it work unless I built something from scratch.

My advice is to get a lock from the rifle shoppe and inlet it yourself into something similar. A decent example is on the NRA museum website. Fairly plain but reasonable to replicate without a complete custom build; which would be outside your budget.

Rifles were all custom made by different gunsmiths so you have some artistic license.

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
  • 2005 Transylvania County NC Heritage Day Event
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2019, 04:20:26 AM »
There is a display of VA Manufactory of Arms on display at the VA Historical Society in Richmond. Giles Cromwell was heavily involved with this display. Giles wrote a book on these arms  https://www.amazon.com/Virginia-Manufactory-Arms-Giles-Cromwell/dp/B007EPY6PO but is not available at Amazon. Possibly contact with him would turn one up.

I feel sure some of our builders would be able to build you one of these rifles.
Dennis