Author Topic: I found this rifle...  (Read 8275 times)

Offline Squirrel pizza

I found this rifle...
« on: July 20, 2019, 11:35:20 PM »
Hi all! I stopped at a yard sale yesterday. Same old junk but a few interesting guns. In the roped off section by the toolbox was what appeared to be a long gun wrapped in a blanket. I was told it's just an old musket. With permission I unwrapped it and found this. The lock is marked "Pennsylvania  Rifle Works". On the top barrel flat in scroll is "H Burns". Guessing I would say .30 to .32cal. All I know about the PRW's is they were owned buy George and Robert Dunlap from 1837-1858. I don't know if H Burns was the rifles owner or builder. The man that owned it told me family lore says the rifle came from the Ohio valley, still shot, and if I bought it he'd throw in a bag, horn, and the things in the bag what made her shoot. It made no sense for me to leave my new rifle there with him so I brought her home. I'm no expert on bags and horns but they're very cool and look period. The tin can with the "round balls" are what look like split shot to me. I looked the rifle over, she looked safe, so yes, I shot it several times. Not a bad group for split shot and t-shirt patches. Anyway, does anyone have any info on this rifle? H Burns? An opinion on the value/age/authenticity of horn and bag? Thanks, SP
Please be patient as I try to upload pictures

« Last Edit: July 21, 2019, 06:34:16 PM by Squirrel pizza »

Offline Squirrel pizza

Re: I found this rifle...
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2019, 11:49:15 PM »

Offline Squirrel pizza

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2019, 11:52:17 PM »

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2019, 12:35:19 AM »
Nice old musket.  I'm sure it's happier in its new home - loved and cared for.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Offline Tanselman

• member 2
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2019, 06:20:06 AM »