Author Topic: My Smallest Longrifle  (Read 2713 times)

Offline davec2

• The Lucky Bag
My Smallest Longrifle
« on: August 12, 2019, 08:46:03 PM »
I have been cleaning out a lot of old books, tools, and just plain junk I have accumulated over the years.  I recently stumbled across a box of things I had not opened in probably more than 50 years.  In a small plastic box, I found something I had made as a 12 year old boy.........

Years ago, on the old board, I posted pictures and the story about building my first real long rifle when I was 17.  I bought a Dixie Gun Works .45 caliber barrel and a couple of brass castings and made everything else including the lock.  But a few years before that, while I was working for my Dad as a dental technician, I made a miniature long rifle.  It didn't fire but the cock and the frizzen moved and I did drill out the tiny octagonal barrel I made for it.  Probably the most unusual thing about it is that all the metal parts are made of gold.  Working as a dental technician in my Dad's lab, we used a lot of gold (and it was about $75 an ounce back then)......so I used gold to make the parts.  The lock parts, butt plate, trigger guard, and trigger I cast from tiny wax patterns I had carved.  For the barrel, I drew a length of wire, drilled it out in a jeweler's lathe, and then filed it octagonal.  The stock is Brazilian rosewood and the rest of the parts (muzzle cap, patch box, ram rod pipes, etc.) I made from 24 karat gold sheet.

Don't remember the caliber.....I will need to measure it...

I even managed to engrave my name on the side plate......when my eyes and manual dexterity were a lot younger.....

Cock and frizzen in the fired position

Cock and frizzen cocked and ready to fire.......

Not a real long rifle.....but I thought it close enough to be included in the "Gun Building" section...... ;)