Author Topic: Rust Proofing Inside of In-the-White Steel Buttplate  (Read 1898 times)

Offline JLayne

Rust Proofing Inside of In-the-White Steel Buttplate
« on: September 06, 2019, 02:11:36 PM »
Hello all,

I am working on a VA rifle kit with steel hardware and am planning to polish the steel but leave it in the white. For those of you who have done this in the past, is there anything you do to rust-proof the interior surface of the buttplate to guard against rust? The cast part appears to have a coat of gray rust primer sprayed on the inside, and I was thinking about scuffing the inside surface and spraying it again with some primer and/or some paint to protect the interior surface, since it won't be coming off again once the build and finishing of the stock are complete (I am a novice to this hobby, but used to work in an auto body shop. Can you tell?). However, I would like to hear if anyone out there have alternate solutions. As for the outside (visible) steel surfaces, once polished, I will periodically (whenever it gets taken to the range and cleaned) apply SE Johnson's wax and some gun oil (I use Hoppe's field wipes) to keep the rust away.

Thanks,
Jay

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Rust Proofing Inside of In-the-White Steel Buttplate
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2019, 02:24:46 PM »
I’d not bother. The inside surface does not have any coating as delivered it’s as it was cast. Unlike cars, rust through is not a problem with steel gun parts. If a little surface rust happens on the inside there’s really no risk or untoward effects.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2019, 03:40:53 PM »
I wish I had time to worry about things like that.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee