Author Topic: Making an 18th Century Pistol Case Part 1: Building the Box (PHOTOS FIXED)  (Read 14341 times)

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
Hi Folks,
I put a tutorial together that shows how I built a pistol case for a set of 18th century English dueling pistols that I made.  First, I want to make it clear that I am no expert on period pistol cases.  I have examined several original cases but not nearly enough to understand all of the nuances and construction methods.  However, I did a lot of research on English dueling pistols and their cases and closely examined every photo of a pistol case that I could find.  I am also knowledgeable about some period construction techniques used in furniture making and I have worked with traditional hand tools since I was 9 years old.  This particular project was a tremendous amount of fun and I learned a lot of history by doing it.  I divided the project into 5 parts: 1) building the box, 2) making and installing the hardware, 3) finishing the outside of the case, and 4) making and installing the partitions, and 5) lining the case.  This tutorial covers part 1, building the box.