American Long Rifles Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 22, 2014, 07:20:54 AM
Home Help Login Register
News:

View the Most Recent Posts
View the ALR Mission Statement
View ALR Rules and Policies
Donate to ALR via US Mail or PayPal

+  AmericanLongRifles Forums
|-+  General discussion
| |-+  Gun Building
| | |-+  Dark stain for walnut stock
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Dark stain for walnut stock  (Read 3735 times)
steg49

« on: November 30, 2009, 09:05:02 PM »

Some time ago I made a stan out of vinegar and steel wool and if I remember correctly it made walnut turn nearly black, but it been long enough that I don't remember the exact procedures, is it just plain white vinegar with steel wool then let it sit for a day or two and it ready? or do I need to add something more? steg49
Scott Semmel

« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 08:52:38 AM »

Aqua fortes turns walnut black too. I'm not experienced with vinegar stain but if you search for vinegar you will find a bunch of threads descibing recipes results etc.
bigsky
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 02:06:02 PM »

You can also turn walnut black (ebonizing) by applying a lye wash like you would apply to cherry.  Be sure to neutralize with vinegar.
Feltwad

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2009, 03:00:37 PM »

I prefere alkernite root mixed with boiled linseed oil ,this brings out the pattern in walnut and darkens the stock ,it will need several applications.
Feltwad
Beaverman

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2009, 04:23:16 PM »

OK , I'll bite, whats alkernite root, where do you get it, and whats the proportion ratio to mix with the oil?HuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuh

Acer Saccharum
Global Moderator

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2009, 05:14:56 PM »

I have had some experience with the vinegar and iron stains. The acetic acid functions the same as the nitric in aqua fortis.

Wash your steel wool out in hot water and detergent first!  It's got oil in it from manufacture.