Author Topic: Real Pillow Ticking  (Read 16831 times)

eagle24

Real Pillow Ticking
« on: January 27, 2010, 06:58:03 AM »
Anybody know of a place online where you can order "real pillow ticking"?  I'm pretty new to this, but I think I have learned that there is "fake" pillow ticking.  Let me explain.  I bought some pillow ticking at a local fabric store on the advice of a friend who has been shooting for years.  It was a heavy ticking (about .020" by my micrometer measurements).  Anyway, I went back to get some more and they were out.  The lady at the fabric store told me it was "real old time pillow ticking" and she had not been able to get any more of it.  I can't say for sure what the difference is from the stuff you get at Wally World other than the thickness, but I think it is the weave (much tighter).  I suspect it is a domestic product as opposed to an import also.  I know it works well for me and I would like to have some more.  If I can't find any, I may have to switch to denim or something else for a tight shooting patch material.

William Worth

Re: Real Pillow Ticking
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 06:01:08 PM »
The stuff I get from my fabric guru is manufactured by an outfit named Thompson in the Carolina's.  And she knows her stuff on old fabrics.

Offline Roger Fisher

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 06:27:00 PM »
Greg: R/U refering to the olde tyme pillow ticking with the floral design??? I went down that road myself.   Milkes abt .015/.016 v tight weave. Cn't see the sun thru it.  Seems like the mfg cut it out since few feather pillows are sold ???

Wally world sells the floral design that mikes only around .008, have you tried that doubled?  That may work in your piece. :)

A good sub is sold by good ol Wade Reynolds at Carolina Calicos called carhardt that mikes around .016/.017.  Wade understands what the shooters need.  It is a tough and tight weave.....Look him up - mention my name  (on 2nd thought maybe you better not ;D)

Daryl