Author Topic: Siler Locks  (Read 6417 times)

Offline PIKELAKE

Siler Locks
« on: September 02, 2008, 12:24:00 AM »
Might anyone know where Wanye Dunlap gets the Siler locks he includes in his rifle parts set? Because today is a holiday, I doubt I could get an answer directly from him. This has been bothering me for a couple of days and tomorrow is a long way off. I might be out of cell phone range for a couple of days and any help would be great.   Thanks     JZ
JOHN ZUREKI

northmn

Re: Siler Locks
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2008, 01:00:55 AM »
Siler locks are available from Jim Chambers.  I noticed on his price list he offers volume discounts.  They can be purchased from about any ML builders supply center.

DP

Offline RobertS

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2008, 01:08:29 AM »
This brings up something I have wondered about, but didn't really know how to ask.  I hope this isn't controversial, but I am new at this, and I know that you can buy the kit and assemble the lock, but there's more to it that just putting the parts together.  Would there be any reason to think that the Siler locks you buy directly from Jim Chambers are better, or maybe more carefully assembled, than those bought from some of the other suppliers of Siler locks?  Or is the quality of the "assembled" Siler lock pretty consistent regardless of the source?  Thanks in advance for answers or opinions.

northmn

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2008, 01:32:24 AM »
While you could ask Jim or Barbie.  I think that the same locks are sent out to suppliers as those he assembles.  I purchased mine from Track of the Wolf and it is very well assembled.  As to kits, I like them, but have a good drill press.  They are good training wheels to learn to tune locks and permit a little modification for an experienced builder.  Also if you screw up (never admit it) you can get replacement parts easily.

DP   

Offline PIKELAKE

« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2008, 01:48:14 AM »