Author Topic: Myrtlewood?  (Read 12331 times)

Offline Kermit

Myrtlewood?
« on: December 02, 2010, 05:34:33 AM »
Anyone ever work this stuff? How is it? I have zero experience with it.
"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." Mae West

Offline b bogart

Re: Myrtlewood?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 05:43:51 AM »
I know FG1 has built a couple of guns outta that wood. Maybe he'll happen in on the conversation!

Offline BJH

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 06:07:44 AM »
The only piece I worked with was rather nice working a bit to the soft side compared to maple or hard walnut. However I turned out to be rather allergic to the saw dust, with skin reactions and severe sneezing.  I finished the gun with scrapers to limit the dust, wearing a dust mask,gloves, and long sleeves.  It's on the short list of woods that I'll never work with again due to my allergies, not the working qualities of the wood.
BJH

FG1

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2010, 06:11:04 AM »
Myrtrlewood works pretty much like walnut but can change directions of grain rapidly. I think it is real close in hardness but a little heavier. I think it makes a pretty stock , pictures dont do it justice in comparison to seeing it in natural light.

IIRC Roy Weatherby used to stock his magnums in it  .  

Heres the last one I did with it.
http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=12339.0
« Last Edit: December 02, 2010, 06:19:09 AM by FG1 »

Offline v308

• Starting Member
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2010, 06:31:40 AM »