Author Topic: Figthorn patchbox mechanism  (Read 9147 times)

Offline James

Figthorn patchbox mechanism
« on: January 15, 2011, 06:51:14 PM »
Hello, I am looking for a photo or drawing that shows how the mechanism on a Figthorn patchbox is constructed. This is my first build and I don't know how to set it up to open from the buttplate. Thanks
"Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect everyone who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are ruined... The great object is that every man be armed. Everyone who is able might have a gun." P.Henry

Offline HIB

Re: Figthorn patchbox mechanism
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 08:13:47 PM »
Andreas Fichthorn [Figthorn] Jr. apprenticed with John Bonewitz In Womelsdorf, Pa during the mid and last half of the 1790's. Leonard Reedy was in the Bonewitz shop at the same time and more than half way through his apprenticeship when Fichthorn joined the group. Fichthorn Jr. returned to his home city of Reading in 1803 and for a while continued to make guns in the Womelsdorf/Bonewitz style. His guns are pretty easy to spot even when he did not mark them with his typical A F on the barrel flat opposite the lock.

If you were to have access to any Bonewitz or Reedy release mechanisms you would have the typical design used by Fichthorn Jr. If not I can provide you with all the detail you will need in your build. In addition, I will be happy to share the research I have done on the Fichthorn family.

Please contact me directly using the e-mail address in the ALR info section as the photos I will be sharing with you come from a private collection.   HIB

Offline Dave B

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2011, 11:19:39 PM »
Here are acouple of photos I have in my archives that are from a rifle that uses a similar release to that of A. Figthorn

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v648/DaveB44/jpb-002.jpg