Author Topic: Advice on slotting underlugs for accuracy  (Read 5340 times)

wetzel

Advice on slotting underlugs for accuracy
« on: January 18, 2011, 10:07:20 PM »
I'm pretty new to gunbuilding, but have completed a few.  When using underlugs and pins I have read from a few places that you should make a horizontal slot to allow for the barrel to move back and forth slightly.  This is supposed to help in accuracy.  Can anybody comment on this?  How big of groove do you make?  Should you do this on a swamped barrel? 

California Kid

Re: Advice on slotting underlugs for accuracy
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2011, 10:10:06 PM »
Not for accuracy but to allow for expanding and contracting wood.

omark

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2011, 12:44:33 AM »
make the slot just as wide as the pin, of course. then, 1/8 inch fore and aft of the pin should be plenty.  mark

Offline BJH

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2011, 01:09:21 AM »
The real reason for slotting underlugs is to allow for wood movement. A really curley piece of maple can elongate a surprising amount from dry winter conditions to humid summer.  The rear lug 1/16 on either end front and middle lugs a fat 3/32 or so. I have seen a gun that was built with the nose cap 1/16 or so from the muzzle in winter, have the fore end elongate so the nose cap was a bit proud of the muzzle of the gun. This was a really curly piece of medium hard maple.
BJH

Offline LRB

• WICK ELLERBE
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2011, 01:29:23 AM »
  This is done for accuracy as well. If the stock moves with unslotted pin holes, it will bend the barrel enough to throw your shots off. You may still shoot a tight group, but the POI will change. I have experienced that, and slotting the pin holes cured the problem.

Online Jim Kibler

• Personal Website
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2011, 01:42:54 AM »