Author Topic: Tools List Needed for Lyman GPR Rebuild  (Read 7003 times)

Mattole

Tools List Needed for Lyman GPR Rebuild
« on: February 18, 2011, 08:01:53 PM »
Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening -

I just purchased a used Lyman GPR that I would like to transform into a 'Hawken' rifle that is a little more period correct. I intend to reshape the stock, file the lettering off the barrel, brown the barrel and other metal parts (don't know about the lock and hammer though.. should I leave it 'case hardened?), and probably replace the escutcheons and the rear sight. I am new to all this, and so I am hoping to get input from you venerable gun building veterans on which basic hand tools I will need to purchase in order to accomplish my goals.

Many thanks,
Kevin
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 08:05:51 PM by Mattole »

Daryl

Re: Tools List Needed for Lyman GPR Rebuild
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2011, 09:09:17 PM »
There is a thread here, maybe a tutorial of what Taylor did to Brians' GPR.  It was an excellent job- laid out in order with pics and text. I don't know if it was a tutorial or not. Perhaps someone can find it. I don't know where to begin.

Rasch Chronicles

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2011, 09:49:38 PM »
Here are the ones I found that might at least be a start:

GPR Rebuild

GPR Kit

Best Regards,
Albert “Afghanus” Rasch
The Rasch Outdoor Chronicles™
The Best Turkey Hunting Tips!

Mattole

« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2011, 10:44:08 PM »
Thanks very much for those links, Rasch. I'm such a newcomer to this that I need the specific name and dimensions of the files and rasps. I don't have a pile of money to spend on tools, so I want to make sure I buy the right ones!

Rasch Chronicles

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2011, 12:10:38 AM »
Hmmm,

I'm kinda surprised that more folks haven't responded. Maybe it's the time... it's 0140 in Afghanistan.