Author Topic: 16 ga smoothbore help  (Read 4465 times)

giffguns

16 ga smoothbore help
« on: March 14, 2011, 09:48:24 PM »
Hi everyone,

Just finished my 16 ga fusil de chasse the other day which has no choke to the barrel and was looking for some help on loads for the gun.
This is my first smoothy some I am new to what to start with.
Ball size, patch thickness and powder charge or any other help would be appreciated.
The bore measures in at .660 dia.

I have some .648 balls but am  trying to see what size patch would work.
The next size I can get easily would be .626 from track, is this too small for the gun?

thanks matt
« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 01:34:53 AM by giffguns »

Daryl

Re: 16 ga smoothbore help
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 11:44:06 PM »
Matt- first of all, is there any choke and if so, what kind - standard or jug? Standard chokes make it a lot easier as once the ball is 1" into the bore, it practically falls down to the powder, yet still shoots very cleanly - mine does, but it has only about .008" choke.

With a pure lead ball, a .020" denim patch will work fine in a bore that is .020" larger than the ball due to there bring no rifiling for the patch to gather. In your case, that would mean a ball of .640". Due to the larger ball of only .012" smaller than the bore (usually it's good to measure them to find exact size) I would suggest trying as large a patch as you can still load - that would be .015" to .018" probably. Going thinner yet is not a good idea, as the patch will not hold enough lube to clean the bore sufficiently while loading. Fouling will build up and cause problems.