Author Topic: new to building  (Read 4077 times)

hugh

new to building
« on: August 30, 2011, 04:22:21 PM »
Hey a newbie here to the site, been reading a lot here over the last few months but just joined. My question/ questions are I am building my first gun (other than a cva kit many years ago). It is a fowler that i have collected parts for. Stock is from pecatonica the ramrod hole is drilled and a 5/8 barrel channel, lock is an L&R, furniture is from TOTW. Any suggestions on inletting to finish will be greatly appreciated. Also I am trying to build something that my grandfather might have carried he was from North Carolina, Tenneessee area late 1700's early 1800's time frame. Thanks

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: new to building
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 04:45:01 PM »
Get some books and videos on building the longrifle; also check out tutorials such as Mike Brooks has on another forum, but be sure to recognize that it's not possible to build a rifle well from online advice alone.  I'm not sure what your line of work is, but I doubt you could learn to do your job well by asking on a forum.  Ideally you need hands-on instruction.  Also the money you spend on books showing originals, and books explaining the sequences of building a rifleand some of the techniques, will pay off many times over.  The next piece of advice I'd offer is to practice, practice, practice.  Practice inletting a lock, a barrel, a buttplate, shaping lock panels.  Use firewood if you can't find anything else.  Musicians and athletes and artists all practice to become good at what they do before it's concert time, game time, or time to tackle that canvas.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2011, 04:45:58 PM by rich pierce »
Andover, Vermont

hugh

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2011, 05:22:21 PM »
Oh, I forgot to say that it is going to be a fowler.

greybeard

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2011, 05:36:30 PM »
Get a copy of Buchells book.  Bout $20.00.    Bob

Rasch Chronicles