Author Topic: Suggestions and direction on a smoothbore  (Read 6494 times)

wetzel

Suggestions and direction on a smoothbore
« on: July 24, 2011, 05:23:25 PM »
Gents,
I am trying to put together a build for this coming winter.  I am still a rookie, but have built a few rifles.  In thinking about what to make the idea occurred to me that maybe I should build a smoothbore.  I have never owned or shot a smoothbore gun and I don't know much about them.  I was hoping for some recommendations.  I would like to use the gun for the shotgun shoots at rendezvous, also to shoot a roundball for the target shoots and trail walks, and hunt deer or elk.  Maybe this is asking to much of one gun, but it sounds like smoothbores are fairly versatile.  I want to be able to carve, and engrave the gun, plus try out some wire inlay.  I don't know much about them so any recommended reading or where to research and learn would also be appreciated as I don't even know where to start.

Offline Lucky R A

• In Costume
Re: Suggestions and direction on a smoothbore
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 05:31:50 PM »
Grinslade's book Flintlock fowlers.  Pick your favorite and recreate it.   
"The highest reward that God gives us for good work is the ability to do better work."  - Elbert Hubbard

Offline wattlebuster

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 07:43:39 PM »
What lucky RA said. I have this book an like it lots
Nothing beats the feel of a handmade southern iron mounted flintlock on a cold frosty morning

wetzel

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 08:05:29 PM »
Thanks guys, I found a soft copy on amazon for 31.00.  It looks like a great reference.  I ordered one and will study it.  Thank you.

Offline Dr. Tim-Boone

• Global Moderator
  • I Like this hat!!
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2011, 11:08:55 PM »
Take a look at Mike Brooks Type G Trade Guns........ Trade guns were the common man's gun for birds, deer, bear and hostiles.  They are long and lite and fast to build.....
De Oppresso Liber
Marietta, GA