Author Topic: Best Rust Protection for the Bore?  (Read 14720 times)

Birdhunter

Re: Best Rust Protection for the Bore?
« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2011, 04:35:15 AM »
Daryl,
Nope. I just know it's been working for me for several years now. I shoot only rocklocks & all know how hard they can be to get completely clean. I don't know if there's anything better ,but until I find it I'm sticking with what works for me.
Curt

Daryl

« Reply #26 on: July 29, 2011, 05:22:01 PM »

Offline geezmo

« Reply #27 on: July 30, 2011, 01:25:17 AM »
Hey Kaintuckee,

Aren't you sorry you asked??? 

Just for my 2 cents, I've been shooting in the NSSA for 41 years and have had good luck with WD40 and still use it.  But, I wipe 'em out fairly often. Some of the guys older than me (a few who are long gone) used RIG and swore by it. You've just got to use them one at a time, and when you find one that works for you, in your environment, stick with it. Regardless of what the rest of us tell you.

Barry

Offline SCLoyalist

« Reply #28 on: July 30, 2011, 02:01:03 AM »
The corrosion tests cited at ctcmuzzleloaders-etc are pretty much what got me to start using ballistol, and I have been satisfied with the results I've gotten using ballistol.

However, the way I read the tests, they were simulating dirty/powder contaminated fingerprints on the outside of the barrel by dissolving powder in water and rubbing the solution on a flat piece of steel.  For a gun, tThe bore is subject to corrosion due to the byproducts of gunpowder burning (or exploding, or whatever the correct term is for when it goes bang) under pressure and high temps, so applying that test data to bore protection is a bit of a stretch, seems to me.